Guacamole

Good news everyone!  I’m no longer allergic to avocados.  For years, I had a reaction every time I had more than a bite of guacamole.  Because I love it so, I would have my one bite and then stop.  I kept trying and guess what?  I am cured.

To celebrate, I make this awesome guacamole whenever I can and at least every other week.  The recipe is one that I have added to and perfected over the years.  You see, M is not allergic to the stuff so I often made it for him to enjoy while I sadly sat by and watched.

Celebratory Guacamole

Yes, avocados are incredibly high in fat.  But it’s the good kind, the kind that actually lowers cholesterol, or so I’m told and choose to believe now that I am able to include this wonderful fruit as part of my diet.

Celebratory Guacamole

Ingredients

2 ripe Hass avocados, peeled, seeded and diced

1 small tomato, diced

1/2 cup of diced red onion

1 clove garlic, finely minced

1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice (lime juice will work too)

several shots of  Tabasco or other liquid hot sauce

salt and ground black pepper to taste (I use about 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper)

Preparation

Place all the ingredients in a large bowl and gently fold together, being careful not to over mash the avocados.  Serve with blue corn tortilla chips and a Smokin’ Good Margarita.

Note: yellow corn tortilla chips work just fine here if you are willing to forego the beautiful blue / green combination.

4 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

4 responses to “Guacamole

  1. Marihelen

    I plan on celebrating with a bowl of your guacamole very soon. Yum!

  2. My friend Stacey was right. This does sound good. I also recommend gaucamole made with three avocados, a can of Ro*Tel (the variety with cilantro & lime in it already is best) and some dashes of Tabasco. Gaucamole isn’t hard, but sometimes waiting isn’t an option. =)

  3. Hey, this looks great. I’m glad you’re no longer allergic-avocados are so delicious and nutrient dense.

  4. MMM&CMom

    Sounds and looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

