Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

I’ve seen an episode or three of The Hills and was always amazed by LC and the gang’s infatuation with Pinkberry. I dismissed it as silly, just like I did most of the show (although it remains a wonderful guilty pleasure).  If only there were more hours in the day.  Then, before Pinkberry opened its doors on the east coast, I heard of the treat being flown across the country for a child’s bat mitzvah.  Really?

It has now been in New York for some time and last weekend I finally paid a visit to the Pinkberry.  And, as much as I hate to admit, it does indeed live up to the hype.  They even have a motto and a catchy little rap song.  The motto goes like this…”frozen yogurt reinvented to create an experience that indulges the senses.”  I’ll say.  They are indeed on to something.  I had a mini combo with mango and plain yogurt, no toppings and it was remarkable.  I left rapping P-I-N-K-B-E-RRY, Pinkberry.

I then decided to go home and see if I could recreate the magic.  And, I modestly say that I think I did.

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Since strawberries are in season, that seemed like an easy choice.  This recipe is so easy AND it even has vodka in it.  Tart, tangy and delicious.

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

by David Lebovitz

Ingredients

1 pound fresh strawberries, rinsed and hulled
2/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vodka or kirsch (optional but why not?)
1 cup plain whole milk yogurt
1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preparation

Slice the strawberries into small pieces. Toss in a bowl with the sugar and vodka or kirsch, if using, stirring until the sugar begins to dissolve. Cover and let stand at room temperature for 1 hour, stirring every so often.

Puree the strawberries and their liquid with the yogurt and lemon juice in a blender or food processor until smooth. If you wish, press the mixture through a mesh strainer to remove any seeds.

Refrigerate for 1 hour then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

2 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Frozen

2 responses to “Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

  1. Hey, this looks so tempting. I love the photo-makes me want to be in the room with a spoon!

  2. i think i’m going to have to try this! it looks amazing

Leave a Reply

