ANZAC Biscuits

M is out of cookies!

He informed me the other day that he had depleted his frozen back stock and asked that I make his now current favorite Almond Spice Wafers. Even though I prefer to try something new, I went ahead and made them. There, happy?

I then starting looking around for something new to make as well and came across this recipe for ANZAC biscuits. The name caught my eye and, after further research, I discovered that these biscuits / cookies were sent to soldiers of the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) during World War I. The ingredients did not spoil during transit and therefore the biscuits could withstand long transit times.

I read a little further and realized that these are essentially an egg-less oatmeal cookie with coconut. I made them and they are fantastic. Crunchy and chewy at the same time.

So, now M’s cookie jar is full, for another week anyway.

Anzac Biscuits

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour
I cup sugar
1 cup rolled oats
1 cup desiccated coconut
4 oz butter
2 tablespoons boiling water
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
3. In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients.
4. In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the butter and golden syrup until the butter has melted.
5. In a small bowl, combine the boiling water and baking soda.
6. Add the baking soda and water mixture with the melted butter and golden syrup.
7. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix thoroughly.
8. Dollop teaspoonfuls of the biscuit mixture onto the baking sheet, leaving approximately two inches between each cookie.  The biscuits WILL spread during baking.
9. Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown.
10. Remove from oven.  Allow the Anzac biscuits to cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

6 Comments

Filed under Cookies

6 responses to “ANZAC Biscuits

  1. MMM&CMOM

    Excellent crisp cookies

  2. Joy

    Great recipe. What is golden syrup?

    • According to wikipedia….It is a thick, amber-colored form of inverted sugar syrup, made in the process of refining sugar cane juice into sugar, or by treatment of a sugar solution with acid. It is used in a variety of baking recipes and desserts. It has an appearance similar to honey, and is often used as a substitute for people who do not eat honey. It can also be used as a substitute for corn syrup.

      I used Lyle’s, a British brand and found it in a specialty grocery in New York City.

  3. Chris

    Larry,
    Love this post! So glad that M’s cookie jar full, again. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy them, as well. This recipe looks really easy. I will definitely have to make these. Thank you. They look delicious.

  4. Hey Larry! I’ve heard of Anzac, but I wouldn’t have been able to tell you what they were if you asked me. Now I can-thanks;) They do look delicious too…!

  5. kip

    how funny that I’m trying to make some Anzac biscuits for my American girlfriend and I ended up getting the recipe on an American website!

    Golden syrup is pretty gross, honey or Maple will work as a substitute, we used to have it on pancakes in our house when there was no honey and I never liked it.

    thanks for the recipe:)

Leave a Reply

