Jalapeño-Infused Tequila

I know, enough about the margaritas. I had planned on keeping this latest discovery to myself but, after recreating it at home, I simply have to share.

We went to Cafe Frida recently on the Upper West Side.  They have a jalapeño margarita on the menu that is so good I had to have two of them. We asked our server how to make them at home and he was kind enough to tell us.  The drink is made from jalapeño-infused tequila, fresh squeezed lime juice and an orange flavored liqueur, such as Grand Marnier, Cointreau or triple sec.

The infusing of the tequila is the tricky part.  Not knowing exactly how all of this would turn out, I decided to make a small batch to start.  I used 8 ounces of silver tequila, and one and a half fresh jalapeños, unseeded, sliced width-wise into 1/4 inch disks.  I added the jalapeños to the tequila and let it rest for 36 hours.

WOW.  The mixture was entirely too spicy and our first margarita was undrinkable.  I recommend a couple of potential fixes here.  Either use less jalapeño, seed them, or let the mixture rest for a shorter period of time. Also, since you never know how spicy each individual jalapeño is going to be, I suggest tasting the tequila after 24 hours.

Once your infusion is where you want it to be flavor-wise, strain the tequila and discard the jalapeños or, better yet, use them to garnish your margaritas or cook with them.

From here on out it is basic margarita making –  2 oz of infused tequila, 1 oz of fresh squeezed lime juice and 1 oz of Grand Marnier, shaken with ice in a cocktail shaker.  Instead of the usual salted rim for the cocktail glass, mix some chili powder with the salt.  Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Alcoholic, Beverages

4 responses to “Jalapeño-Infused Tequila

  1. This sounds interesting and very easy. I assume you used fresh Jalapenos and not the pickled type. I think I will give this a try. I wonder if using a chipotle pepper would yield an infused tequila appropriate for a Bloody Maria. Any thoughts on this? Thanks.

    • Yes, I used fresh jalapenos. I do think a chipotle pepper would yield a great infused tequila for a Bloody Maria and that’s one I need to try!

  2. debbie

    Twang and chili power on the rim!!!

  3. Redfish

    If you want a REAL bloody Mary might I suggest infusing vodka with bacon? It’s done the exact same way as the tequila. If you’re concerned about too much grease remaining in the vodka, freeze the jar and then you can skim the at out.

Leave a Reply

